Undecided

When the sun creeps down
Behind the Willow Tree
And your heart sinks
To the darkest deep

Choose me

When hands reach
To pull you near
And lips tempt
From word to ear

Choose me

Choose me to hear

When pavement cracks
Bringing belly aches
Tempting lies
And levee breaks

Palms up
Head down
Eyes closed
Ear to the ground

Let it go
Let all of it be
Then open your eyes and

Choose me

About jessicakristie

Author | Founder | Freedom Advocate
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Undecided

  1. The line ‘chose me’ just knocked me off my feet. As always my little butterfly…glorious

  2. Future4Fina says:

    Love it, love it, love it.

  3. betweenhearts75 says:

    Beautiful!!!!

  4. wifsie says:

    For me, it’s life whispering, ‘choose me’. Lovely poem!!
    Maryse

  5. wifsie says:

    Hey, do you write music? This would make a great song!

    • I love your whisper, great interpretation.

      I wish I did! I have collaborated with musicians before. I am told that a lot of my poetry would be good songs. I should collab more! Thank you for reading. ♥♥

  6. booguloo says:

    Quit twisting my arm.. I choose..

  7. kolembo says:

    Nice one, great photo!

  8. Lynne says:

    This is one kicking stanza

    When pavement cracks
    Bringing belly aches
    Tempting lies
    And levee breaks

    Really powerful.
    Enjoyed this poem:-)

    (Thank you for also reading my post. ost appreciative)

  9. jjvioletpoet says:

    I agree with what another person wrote and that is it seemed like a song a to me. I could picture an acoustic set up and someone playing his guitar while singing this song in a Kurt Cobain voice. Keep Rockin’

  10. Joanne says:

    Intensity of wanting is quite palpable. Great concise images and excellent reinforcement (choose me). Makes me remember…

  11. randallweiss says:

    So why again should I choose you? 😉

  12. First, congratulations and welcome to the One Stop Team! Simply a beautifully written poem that speaks not only to my heart but I’m sure many others. There hasn’t been a time in which one of us has not internally screamed out, choose me! Thank you for sharing.

  13. Helena Malheur says:

    I felt this one… very deeply. Powerful write!

  14. poeticphraze says:

    Almost like hearing you chant some spiritual mantra to my soul. I would choose you everytime. Bravo!

  15. Kilashandra says:

    Made my heart stutter and catch. I had as visceral a reaction to it as i do my own poetry written for personal experience. Rhythmic and simple… It would take more words to describe what you’ve done than words it took to do it.

  16. brian says:

    ah, so beautiful…great rhyme scheme and the repitition of choose me…lyrical one shot

  17. poemblaze says:

    Tender, heartfelt poem. Especially liked the first stanza and:

    Palms up
    Head down
    Eyes closed
    Ear to the ground

  18. booguloo says:

    Yes, I’d like that with a slice of smiles to go.. thanks..

  19. A sweet poem. For your lover, yeh? When you get older (like me), you might write a poem like this to a spirit ally or maybe God. That’s when all the hormones and dramas calm down. Believe me, they will.
    Thanks,
    Tiger

  20. Reilley says:

    When lips tempt from word to ear – The very essence of poetry, I think. Brava!

  21. Claudia says:

    yes – this could be a song – i like the intervals – the repetition of choose me and the variation of short and longer lines – gives your poem a good rhythmic feeling

  22. Kavita says:

    Oh wowww… this one sang out to me, girl… lovely!
    We all need one such hand to hold on to… a hand that cares, always… how wonderful that is!

    A soft and beautiful one shot, Jessica..

  23. Monty says:

    a work as gentle and lovely as the lady who wrote it, jess, and that’s all jokes aside, dear lady 🙂

  24. dasuntoucha says:

    There’s definitely a lyrical quality to this piece that lingers after reading it…nicely done.

  25. Steve Isaak says:

    Superb use of cadence, repetition, flow, all that. Exemplary stuff.

Leave a comment